Ross Road School


Provincial Pre-Primary Program

The Nova Scotia Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (EECD) launched a new Pre-Primary Program in September 2017.
NEW - Provincial Pre-Primary Program Expansion for 2018-2019

On March 7, 2018, the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development announced the expansion of the Pre-Primary Program for the 2018-2019 school year. Click here to read the news release.

Pre-Primary will be offered at the following new locations in 2018-2019:

    Atlantic Memorial-Terence Bay School (Pre-Primary Program will be offered at Atlantic Memorial site)
    Bicentennial School
    Brookhouse Elementary
    Central Spryfield Elementary
    Chebucto Heights Elementary
    East St. Margaret’s Elementary
    George Bissett Elementary
    Humber Park Elementary School
    Inglis Street Elementary School
    Musquodoboit Valley Education Centre
    Ross Road School
    Sambro Elementary School
    Sir Charles Tupper Elementary School
    Springvale Elementary School
    Upper Musquodoboit Consolidated School
    William King Elementary School


Registration for the new Pre-Primary Programs will begin on March 19, 2018.

To be eligible, a child must have reached his/her fourth birthday on or before December 31, 2018 and live within the catchment area of the school offering the program. Children who would attend the Terence Bay site of Atlantic Memorial - Terence Bay Elementary can register for the program at Atlantic Memorial.

Registration takes place at each school.

Parents/guardians must present the child's proof of age, legal name (as listed on birth certificate, passport, immigration papers, legal name change certificate or adoption documents), proof of residency (such as a current utility bill, lease agreement, etc.), Nova Scotia Health Card (MSI) number and expiry date at the time of registration.
What is Pre-Primary?

    Pre-Primary Fact Sheet (link)
    All information about this program can be found by visiting .

Provincial Pre-Primary Program: September 2017 – June 2018

The current Pre-Primary locations for the 2017-2018 school year are:

    Admiral Westphal Elementary
    Colby Village Elementary
    Duncan MacMillan High
    Harbour View Elementary
    Hillside Park Elementary
    Joseph Howe Elementary
    Nelson Whynder Elementary
    Oyster Pond Academy
    Rockingstone Heights School
    St. Stephen’s Elementary
    South Woodside Elementary
    Sycamore Lane Elementary

More Information

For more information about the program please contact one of our Pre-Primary Supervisors:

    Renee Forbes:; or
    Suzanne Power-Hann: .